

18th October 2021

PCPF Chairman and Trustees,
Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund,
Buck (Bristol),
PO Box 319,
Mitcheldean
GL14 9BF

Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund investment in Chinese companies accused of complicity in gross human rights violations

Dear Chairman Donohue and Trustees,

We are writing to raise our concern about recent reports that the Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund has exposure to Emerging Market equities, including possible investment in Chinese companies which have been accused of being complicit in human rights violations, Chinese state-run banks, and Chinese fossil fuel giants.

As you are no doubt aware, according to the 2018-2019 annual report the fund had 5.6% of its assets invested in the Blackrock Emerging Markets fund. This comes to £39.3 million. In 2021, the Blackrock Emerging Markets fund had invested 6.03% or over £2,300,000 of the fund in Tencent, 2.31% or over £900,000 in Alibaba, 1.88% or £738,000 in the China Construction Bank, and 1.67% or £656,000 in Sinopec.

Aside from being two of the largest technology companies in China, Alibaba and Tencent regularly collaborate with the Chinese state in maintaining internet censorship through the 'Great Firewall" and have provided the Government with surveillance patents for software which has been put to use against the Uyghurs. Chinese state-owned banks are also the largest bankroller of Chinese state-owned enterprises, which in turn have spent the last decade buying up a substantial amount of strategic infrastructure in the UK.

Like other investment firms, Blackrock claims that it supports ethical investing through adherence to the 'Environmental, Social and Governance' (ESG) criteria. Yet, these problematic investments clearly undermine that commitment.

Given the continued sanctions China has placed on UK parliamentarians, the decision by the Speaker to ban the Chinese Ambassador from the parliamentary estate, and the motion passed by the House of Commons labelling the treatment of the Uyghurs as "genocide", we urge the trustees of the fund to urgently review our pension investments in China and ensure the Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund is not invested in companies or institutions complicit in gross human rights violations or institutions linked to the Chinese-state.

Yours sincerely,

Geraint Davies MP

Siobhain McDonagh MP Dr Liam Fox MP Alyn Smith MP Iain Duncan Smith MP Stephen Kinnock MP Fiona Bruce MP Lisa Nandy MP Layla Moran MP Sir David Amess MP Debbie Abrahams MP Martyn Day MP Rupa Huq MP Rushanara Ali MP Dave Doogan MP Imran Hussain MP Fleur Anderson MP Peter Dowd MP Kim Johnson MP David Amess MP Jack Dromey MP Diana Johnson MP Paula Barker MP Rosie Duffield MP Darren Jones MP Bob Blackman MP Julie Elliott MP David Jones MP Ben Bradshaw MP Chris Elmore MP Afzal Khan MP Alan Brown MP Tim Farron MP Ben Lake MP Lyn Brown MP Stephen Farry MP Chris Law MP Chris Bryant MP Simon Fell MP Emma Lewell-Buck MP Dawn Butler MP Marion Fellows MP Andrew Lewer MP Karen Buck MP Margaret Ferrier MP Clive Lewis MP **Bambos Charalambous** Patricia Gibson MP Tim Loughton MP MP Patrick Grady MP Caroline Lucas MP Alistair Carmichael MP Margaret Greenwood Kenny MacAskill MP **Daisy Cooper MP** MP Justin Madders MP Rosie Cooper MP Nia Griffith MP Seema Malhotra MP Neil Coyle MP Andrew Gwynne MP Rachael Maskell MP Stella Creasy MP Claire Hanna MP Stewart McDonald MP Jon Cruddas MP Emma Hardy MP Stuart McDonald MP John Cryer MP Harriet Harman MP John McDonnell MP **Judith Cummins MP** Wera Hobhouse MP Catherine McKinnell MP Alex Cunningham MP Margaret Hodge MP Anna McMorrin MP Janet Daby MP Kate Hollern MP

Kevin Hollinrake MP

Navendu Mishra MP

Carol Monaghan MP Tommy Sheppard MP Lord Alton

Stephen Morgan MP Alex Sobel MP Baroness Bennett

Gavin Newlands MP Chris Stephens MP Lord Bowness

John Nicolson MP Graham Stringer MP Baroness Burt

Neil O'Hara MP Mark Tami MP Baroness Cox

Sarah Olney MP Sam Tarry MP Baroness Kennedy

Chi Onwurah MP Derek Thomas MP Lord Kinnock

Kate Osamor MP Gareth Thomas MP Baroness Kramer

Kate Osborne MP Richard Thompson MP Baroness Lister

Sarah Owen MP Owen Thompson MP Baroness McDonagh

Jess Phillips MP Stephen Timms MP Lord Newby

Tom Randall MP Derek Twigg MP Baroness Richmond

Christina Rees MP Catherine West MP Lord Rooker

Marie Rimmer MP Alan Whitehead MP Lord Stunell

Gavin Robinson MP Philippa Whitford MP Lord Swinfen

Andrew Rosindell MP Hywel Williams MP Lord Tebbit

Bob Seely MP William Wragg MP Lord Warner

Jim Shannon MP

Virendra Sharma MP

Barry Sheerman MP