The Rt Hon Liz Truss, MP
Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs
Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office
King Charles Street
London
SW1A 2AH

24th May 2022

Dear Foreign Secretary,

RE: Undertaking an audit of the UK assets of Hong Kong and Chinese officials

We are writing to urge the Government to undertake an audit of the UK assets of Hong Kong and Chinese officials who have been linked to gross human rights violations as a pathway to introducing targeted sanctions.

A recent <u>report</u> published by the UK-based NGO, Hong Kong Watch, has found that five Hong Kong officials and six lawmakers that are complicit in the ongoing human rights crackdown currently own property in the UK.

It cannot be right that these Hong Kong officials along with their Chinese counterparts who decry "Western interference" and openly attack the right of the UK to stand by its historic, legal, and, moral commitment to the people of Hong Kong, at the same time continue to hide their wealth in property in the UK.

We urge you to learn the lessons from the crisis in Ukraine and ensure that the UK Government has a better understanding of the bank accounts, property, and other UK assets owned by Chinese officials and Hong Kong officials implicated in human rights violations and breaches of the Sino-British Joint Declaration.

This would be in line with your recent speech at Mansion House, where you said that "access to the global economy must depend on playing by the rules". Such an audit would serve not only as a way to highlight the hypocrisy of these authoritarian actors who abuse human rights, but also would provide the UK and our partners with necessary leverage over a regime that continues to destroy rights with impunity.

Furthermore, as we approach the second anniversary of the introduction of the draconian National Security law in Hong Kong, we hope that such an audit will serve as the basis for a Hong Kong specific sanctions list, which should include Hong Kong and Chinese officials responsible for the ongoing crackdown and destruction of the Hong Kong's autonomy.

Yours sincerely,

Siobhain McDonagh MP

Subhan McDongah

Co-lead signatories:

Sir Iain Duncan Smith MP Tom Tugendhat MP

Claire Hanna MP Rushanara Ali MP Alyn Smith MP Tahir Ali MP Emma Hardy MP Chris Stephens MP Mike Amesbury MP Helen Hayes MP **Graham Stringer MP** Steve Baker MP Dame Meg Hillier MP Sir Desmond Swayne MP Paul Blomfield MP Wera Hobhouse MP Alison Thewliss MP Stephen Timms MP Sir Peter Bottomley MP Dame Margaret Hodge MP Ben Bradshaw MP Dr Rupa Huq MP Catherine West MP Alan Brown MP Matt Western MP Dan Jarvis MP

Chris Bryant MP

Gregory Campbell MP

Dame Diana Johnson MP

Dame Weld Jones MP

Wendy Chamberlain MP

Mitter Western MP

Dr Philippa Whitford MP

Hywel Williams MP

Mohammad Yasin MP

Lord Alton of Liverpool

Sarah Champion MP Emma Lewell-Buck MP Lord Balfe
Rosie Cooper MP Tim Loughton MP Baroness Bennett

Daisy Cooper MP Caroline Lucas MP Lord Bethell

Stella Creasy MP Paul Maynard MP Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Judith Cummins MP Kerry McCarthy MP Lord Collins of Highbury

Janet Daby MP Stewart McDonald MP Bishop of Coventry

Sir Ed Davey MP

Stuart McDonald MP

Baroness Cox

Wayne David MP

John McDonnell MP

Lord Falconer

Geraint Davies MP Catherine McKinnell MP Lord Hamilton of Epsom
Peter Dowd MP Anne McLaughlin MP Lord Harries of Pentregarth
Rosie Duffield MP Layla Moran MP Baroness Harris of Richmond

Colum Eastwood MP Charlotte Nichols MP Lord Haworth
Julie Elliott MP John Nicolson MP Lord Hylton
Florence Eshalomi MP Brendan O'Hara MP Lord Inglewood

Stephen Farry MP Sarah Olney MP Lord Jones of Cheltenham

Simon Fell MP Sarah Owen MP Baroness Kennedy

Marion Fellows MP Ian Paisley MP Lord Mackay of Clashfern

Margaret Ferrier MP Tom Randall MP Baroness Meyer
Gill Furniss MP Marie Rimmer MP Lord Shinkwin
Nusrat Ghani MP Andrew Rosindell MP Lord Stunell
Patricia Gibson MP Bob Seely MP Lord Trees

Patrick Grady MP Virendra Sharma MP Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Damian Green MP Barry Sheerman MP Lord Willoughby De Broke

Sarah Green MP Henry Smith MP